Suave Professionals Rosemary Mint Shampoo and Contitioner

27 12 2010
Suave Rosemary Mint Shampoo and Conditioner

Suave Rosemary Mint Shampoo and Conditioner

I don’t see to many reviews on this product.  It was released at the same time as the Almond Shea line.  I have tried them both and to be honest, I am a Rosemary Mint kind of girl!

First things first, clearly Suave Professionals Rosemary Mint shampoo and conditioner is not an all natural hair care product.  Now, while I adore all natural hair care products, I don’t subscribe to the theory that if it isn’t natural, then it must be bad for our hair.  Right now, I’m not feeling the push to go all natural as far as my products go.

Now on to the review.  I use both the shampoo and the conditioner.  The shampoo contains sodium laureth sulfate.  I usually use it 2-3 times a month.  More if I keep my hair in protective styles (maybe once every 5 days) because I feel like my scalp gets dirtier when I use protective styling.  I like the fruity minty scent and I like how clean it gets my scalp and hair.  I have been using it for several months and I haven’t noticed yet that it is drying or stripping to my hair.  I tend to use this instead of clarifying shampoo because otherwise, I exclusively co-wash.  It smells good and gets the job done.

As far as the conditioner goes, I absolutely love Love LOVE this stuff!  The third and fourth ingredients are cones, therefore I only co-wash with this when I am doing wash-n-go’s because I don’t stretch them.  I re-do them daily until I twist up.  I have used this conditioner when I was in protective styles, but it ended up leaving my hair dry and stiff from buildup.  I don’t blame the conditioner, it just isn’t compatible with that particular styling regimen for me.

This conditioner gives my hair instant slip.  I don’t have to let the water run on my hair for more than 20 or 30 seconds.  When I put it on my hair, I get instant cooperation!   I love the way it aids in detangling and since I detangle my natural hair with my hands only, I see a lot less hair on them when I use this.  It says on the bottle “prepare for stunningly soft shiny hair” and it is the truth.  I get consistently soft shiny touchable W-n-G hair when I use this product.

Another of my favorite uses for this conditioner is to pre-poo with it.  Again it is great for detangling and aiding in removing shed hairs.  I will often do a hot oil treatment first then add this conditioner on my dry hair and sit under a dryer for 30 minutes before I wash when I take down my twists.  I am doing that as I type as a matter of fact. It just makes the rest of the process so much easier and by easier I mean faster.

The price can’t be beat either.   The first time I came across this Suave Professionals Rosemary Mint line, I was in Walgreen’s and it was on sale 2 for $5 for the big bottle that is 32 ounces.  Usually they run about $5  each otherwise.  The 14oz bottle runs about $2 and some change.

Overall, I would give this product combination

3.5 out of 5 afros

because of the way it makes my hair feel when I am in protective styles.  Have you tried out Suave Professionals?  Leave a comment and let us know what you think.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

