Introducing Housekeeping

29 12 2010

¡Toc Toc!Ugh I have to clean my apartment.  The very thought makes me want to go back to sleep.  I was never a good housekeeper, but it got worse a few years ago during one of the darker times in my life.  Do you ever have those times in your life when you are so down you just stop doing stuff.  Then one day, you find yourself in a deep hole that you have to dig yourself out of?  Well housekeeping is that for me.  I used to be able to keep up with it so that you could come over if you called me 20 minutes ahead.  I think that is pretty normal for people but for me now, I need at least three days notice of visitors.  My biggest fear is that unexpected knock on the door!

I am so not feeling this at all!

Well I suppose that the only way that my place is gonna get cleaned is if I get up and do it right?  In the past I have attempted the FlyLady method.  The only thing that I can say is the for me, it was just another way to gather paper and mess.  You see, I can print off schedules and tips, but they won’t clean my house either.  One thing that she suggests is that if you just do 15 minutes a day, you can get it all done eventually so this morning, I took that nugget and ran with it.  I have to admit, I wasn’t feeling it at all y’all!

All done! 15 minutes isn't that long!

But I did it because I want a clean house!  I want an organized house!  So I set the stop watch for 15 minutes, and went to it and you know what?  It wasn’t that bad. I realize now that the goal is to keep cleaning for 15 minutes not to finish the house in 15 minutes.  Just finish out the time.  So it was really easy to just pick up the junk, toss the papers, put the clothes away.  Now I gotta do it again tomorrow!

Do you have a schedule for keeping the house clean?

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 01 2011
Jamie H

A friend of mine from the blog Where’s The Me in Mommy mentioned the 15 minute method. I think that’s one of my goals for the new year. I can tolerate 15 minute periods. I too am one of those people who wait until it gets way too overwhelming.

13 01 2011
Kevin

I know several people who use the timer method for doing a bunch of other tasks as well as house keeping. They say it works well to keep you on track.

13 01 2011
reinventionave

It really does help take an enormous project and break it down into small achievable chunks!

Leave a Reply

