2010 Hair Care Favorites

30 12 2010

Since this blog is about reinventing oneself, I am choosing not to do new years resolutions.  Those always seem so temporary and I am trying to change permanently.  Instead, today, I’m going to share with you all my favorite hair care products from 2010.

To start off the list is

  • Yes To Cucumbers conditioner.  I liked this product a lot.  The scent is very light clean and cucumbery.  My hair soaks this stuff up in the shower and it makes detangling a breeze.  You can pick it up for $8.99 at Target.
  • Skala Fruit Cocktail Deep Conditioner.  This conditioner gives me so much moisture.  After I deep condition (DC) with it my hair just hangs and curls from all that moisture.  You can cop this Skala Beauty or Amazon.  The 35 ounce jug will run you about $10. It lasts a long long time and you get so much moisture for your buck!
  • I also fell in love with the Skala brand Ceramides G3 deep treatment mask but it appears that they aren’t making that anymore.  BUMMER!
  • We can’t forget Suave Professionals Rosemary Mint conditioner.  I have posted about it here.  Love this stuff .
  • Baby food bananas.  Putting this into a DC treatment is like an instant moisture boost.  I use the baby food because it is way easier to get out of my hair than mashed up whole bananas.
  • This year I came to appreciate hair oil blends as well.  I make my own with whatever I have on hand at home which usually is jojoba oil, Jamaican black castor oil, neem oil, and I usually will take a pre made oil like Perfect Results or African Pride and add that too.  I use it to oil my scalp and pre-poo.
  • To that end I LOVE me some Jamaican Black Castor oil.  It is proven to help your hair grow in thicker and darker.  Well I don’t have problems with thinning hair so I really can’t attest to the veracity of that statement, but I can say that it has worked wonders on my dandruff issues.  I’ll keep it!  $11 on Amazon.
  • Perfect Results hair and body oil.  Smells like cough syrup but it doesn’t linger and my hair drinks this stuff up.  I never get any shiny greasies on my hands.  Is greasies a word?  Anyway, you can pick this up at Sally’s for $7
  • Godrej Black Henna.  I go into more detail about this product in my video because it isn’t “real” henna.  However, I still love it.  When I bought it, the lady in the shop said it would make my hair “too black” and she was so right.  The color lasts and lasts.  I don’t know where to get it outside of Minneapolis and I grabbed it at a Somali Mall near my job.
  • Eco Styler Olive Oil gel.  When used with a good moisturizing leave-in I don’t ever get that hard crunchy feeling.  Check your local BSS.
  • Jane Carter Solutions Revitalizing Leave-in Conditioner.  I love this stuff for the scent alone.  Grab it up at Target $9
  • Lastly my most favorite hair product for 2010 is my Kimmaytube type leave-in conditioner.  I was resistant to jump on this bandwagon because I try to avoid bandwagons, but I found myself with all I needed but the aloe juice one day so I decided to go grab the juice and try it out.  I was blown away!  This leave-in leaves my hair silky and shiny and it really helps to keep my ends smooth and prevents those pesky single strand knots (SSK’s.) This is one bandwagon I’m glad I jumped on.  I will do a future post on what I use in it because I don’t follow her recipe exactly.


So that’s it for my 2010 faves.  What were your favorite surprises this year?  Did you find yourself changing up your whole routine like I did or did you find yourself running back to some old faithful products? Leave a comment and let me know!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

