Introducing Finance! Claiming Financial Independence.

1 01 2011

Money
I’ve been thinking about how I  am going to approach this topic.  After all, financial independence is not a topic that I know a whole lot about.  I have to remind myself that I am not talking about what I have done, but what I am going to do.  And as I have said before, I am claiming it so I better get on it.

When I think about financial independence I usually think of a few things.

  1. Being financially independent to me means that I am legit.  Everyone owed is paid on time  including and especially Uncle Sam!
  2. It means that I am not spending all my money every month, and I am making responsible choices with the money that I do spend.
  3. Wealth building activities such as saving and investing are things that I think of when I picture someone who has achieved financial freedom.
  4. Understanding and using a budget.
  5. Seeking out alternate avenues of income.

I fully expect that this list will be a dynamic list and that as I work towards my goal in 2011 it will change and morph into something else.  But for now, it’s a start and it accurately represents the points that hit home the hardest for me.  So these are the first steps toward my financial reinvention.  In future posts I’ll talk more about the tools that I will use to aid in this transformation.  What are your financial goals for this year?  How do you plan to achieve them?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

