Quick Shea Butter Tip

15 01 2011

Do you not like Shea Butter because you find that it is heavy and leaves your hair dull and dusty looking?  Before you give up on the holiest of the natural hair holy grails, give this tip a try.  It just might make you fall in love with it!

First, start out with a small amount of Shea Butter in the palm of your hand.  Using smaller amounts, not bigger than the size of your fingertip, will help to make the Shea Butter melt faster.  It may seem like going back and forth to the butter is going to add to your styling time but it won’t and you’ll soon see why.

Just a dab'll do ya!

Next, rub the Shea Butter between your palms for a few seconds.  Do you notice how it goes from a small off white chunk to an off white paste?  This is where the dull dusties come from.  Keep rubbing your palms together until the butter goes clear.  This is why you want to use small amounts.  A large amount is going to take longer to melt to clear and you run the risk of getting the DD’s and ruining your style.

Now you see it...

...Now you don't!

 

Now apply to hair starting with the ends first.  Always start with your ends when you have the most product on your hands.  The ends of your hair are the oldest part and they need the most moisture and protection.  Also, if you put too much Shea Butter on your hands, it’s easier to camouflage the DD’s at the ends of your hair instead of right on the top. I always find that my ends drink up any extra Shea in a matter of about 45 minutes to an hour max.

Apply to ends first...

...Then distribute throughout the rest of your hair.

Please note that I didn’t actually apply the shea to my hair.  I was deep conditioning at the time so I just took some demo pictures.  I would not suggest applying Shea butter to dripping wet hair.  In my experience, that leads to making the clear melted butter congeal in the first place it touches.  I like to dry my hair in a micro fiber towel or t-shirt for about 10-15 minutes before applying.  My end result is shiny moisturized hair that is soft all day long.

I really hope this helps someone out.  I love Shea Butter and I always get a pang in my little heart when I hear that someone can’t use it for whatever reason.  LOL   If this works for you, leave a comment and let us know.  Or tell us about the different ways you use Shea Butter.

Lastly sorry about the crappy webcam pics.  I am currently budgeting in a new camera so please bear with me.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 01 2011
Marcia Mayne

Thanks for this post. I’ve worn my hair naturally for more than 20 years – the last 10 I’ve had it locked. I’ve never used shea butter in my hair, rather on my skin. I usually mix it with olive oil. I’ll try your method. Thanks!
Marcia
http://insidejourneys.com

17 01 2011
reinventionave

I love Shea Butter! I don’t know why I got away from it. Thankfully that box in my closet kept calling my name. I’m back on it now! LOL I haven’t used it on my skin in a while but since it’s winter and I have a ton of oils right now, I don’t know why I don’t make a little mix for myself! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

